Corporate case file
SK2
ICE paid SK2 LLC for real-property acquisition services under a contract it did not compete, and four SEC-filed purchase agreements show SK2 held access agreements for California City, Otay Mesa, Prairie and Midwest while CoreCivic sold them for a derived total of $2.21 billion. The documents establish access and a federal services contract. They do not identify who appraised the properties, who set the prices, or how any part of SK2’s federal contract relates to either sale.
- limited liability company
- Principal executive office: San Juan, PR
- Reviewed August 28, 2026
What these records do not establish
Who owns or controls SK2, where it was formed, or whether it is currently active. Which properties, if any, the federal contract assigned to SK2, or how its fee divided among them. Who appraised either property, examined title, commissioned environmental work, or set the purchase prices. That the $2,205,828,830 CoreCivic received for the four properties is SK2 money of any kind. That the difference between obligations and outlays is unpaid work, profit, savings, waste or anything else. That the one-source award was improper, or that a justification was not prepared. That SK2 used no subcontractors, consultants or other firms.
Who this company is on the record
Identity, registered identifiers and address, as published in the cited records.
- Legal name
- SK2 LLC
- Display name
- SK2
- Legal form and jurisdiction
- limited liability company
- Lifecycle status
- unknown
- Unique Entity ID (UEI)
- H4WHPLHWHYQ4
- CAGE code
- 01P83
- Also filed as
- SK2, LLC · SK2
- Address as published
- San Juan, Puerto Rico
- Address as published
- Clarksville, Tennessee
- Completeness
- Partial dossier
System for Award Management as reported in the federal award record. The UEI identifies the federal award recipient; it does not establish ownership, formation jurisdiction or complete corporate status.
CAGE/SAM-derived federal contractor records. The CAGE code does not establish ownership, headquarters, formation jurisdiction or performance at a named property.
Spellings and brands carried for the same legal entity in the cited records. A different spelling is not a different company, and a brand is not a subsidiary.
Corporate address as published in this record. Registries print more than one address for this company, and none is selected here as the definitive current headquarters. Not a detention facility.
Corporate address as published in this record. Registries print more than one address for this company, and none is selected here as the definitive current headquarters. Not a detention facility.
The contract identity, its three actions, its obligation and outlay figures, two filed access-agreement relationships, three named people and the separate Navy vehicle are documented through the August 22, 2026 snapshot. Formation jurisdiction, lifecycle status, current ownership and control, the contract file, the justification for using one source, property assignments, deliverables, pricing basis, consultants and fee allocation remain unresolved. Reviewed August 28, 2026.
Current leadership
Names, titles and dates exactly as the cited records publish them. A title establishes no participation in a contract, a subsidiary's work, or a government decision.
Executive roles at the review date (2)
Titles as published. A role establishes no participation in a contract, lobbying contact, contribution, or government decision.
Steven Kelley
reported business partner behind SK2
Reported in the cited filing; no end date established
Scott King
reported business partner behind SK2
Reported in the cited filing; no end date established
Recent role changes (1)
Roles the cited filing records as ended.
James Grossmann
SK2 notice-copy recipient in four SEC-filed purchase agreements
Ended before the review date · From July 2, 2026 · To July 2, 2026
Exact related award recipients
Award records are held against the exact recipient named on the award, not against the corporate family. No figure on this page is combined across the family.
This project holds no federal award record for this entity itself. That is absence from the award records indexed here, not a finding that the company holds no federal award, and it is not an amount of zero.
No award recipient in this dataset is established as belonging to this company. Where a corporate relationship is not established in reviewed records, it stays unresolved rather than being inferred from a shared name.
One company, and a registration record that disagrees with itself
The award names San Juan. A registration mirror names Clarksville. No filing was obtained that settles where SK2 was formed, or who owns it now.
The award record names SK2 LLC of SAN JUAN, PR, carrying UEI H4WHPLHWHYQ4 and CAGE 01P83. A secondary registration mirror prints a Clarksville, Tennessee address for the same company, and SK2’s own site describes it as a Puerto Rico partner. No formation or status filing for this company was obtained, so the conflict stands unresolved rather than being settled here.
2024-09-04 · exact-secondary · attributed-secondary
SAM registration date printed by federal-registration mirrors
Secondary SAM-derived profiles print September 4, 2024 as the registration date.
SAM registration is not the legal formation date or proof of current corporate status.
2025-09-04 · exact · observed
NAVSUP awarded SK2 a WEXMAC TITUS IDV
The separate Navy vehicle was awarded through full and open competition with 109 offers and showed no published child order in the frozen snapshot.
The vehicle does not establish an ICE warehouse task order.
2026-01-07 · exact · observed
ICE awarded the real-property acquisition-services contract
The firm-fixed-price contract began at $5,980,800 and recorded one offer under FAR 6.302-1.
The award record does not identify a property or establish that the sole-source rationale was sufficient.
2026-02-01 · exact · observed-sec-filed-agreement
SK2 access agreements began for California City and Otay Mesa
Both SEC-filed purchase agreements later defined their due-diligence periods by reference to February 1 access agreements between CoreCivic and SK2.
The references do not identify which inspections or diligence products SK2 performed.
2026-02-03 · exact · observed
P00001 extended the period of performance
The zero-dollar change order extended the acquisition-services contract.
A period extension does not identify a property or explain the agency’s reasons.
2026-06-04 · exact · observed
P00002 added $299,040 and extended performance
The change order raised cumulative obligations to $6,279,840.
The public action description does not identify added deliverables, properties, rates or performers.
2026-07-02 · exact · observed-sec-filed-agreement
DHS signed the California City and Otay Mesa purchase agreements
The agreements purchased the properties for $732,571,392 and $739,208,496 and carried the SK2 access references and notice-copy role.
The property prices are not SK2 compensation and do not establish that SK2 appraised, priced or brokered either sale.
2026-08-22 · exact · observed
Frozen federal award snapshot
The deterministic snapshot carried three actions, $6,279,840 in obligations and $4,455,696 in reported outlays.
The snapshot does not establish final closeout, invoices, profit or complete performance.
Current owner
Unresolved
No reviewed record names who owns or controls SK2 now, where it was formed, or whether it is currently active. Companies elsewhere sharing the name, with different identifiers, filings or people, are not this company.
ICE bought real-property acquisition services without competing the contract
One offer, one source, and a scope written for buying existing buildings.
ICE signed 70CMSW26C00000002 with SK2 on January 7, 2026 for the purpose of this award is for the acquisition of real property services to purchase existing structures to meet ice operating requirements to support ice-oafm.
- Contract
- 70CMSW26C00000002
- Recipient of record
- SK2 LLC
- Buying office
- MISSION SUPPORT WASHINGTON
- Pricing
- FIRM FIXED PRICE
- Competition
- NOT COMPETED
- Period of performance
- January 7, 2026 → September 4, 2026
- Work classification
- OFFICES OF REAL ESTATE AGENTS AND BROKERS
- Place of performance
- SAN DIEGO, CA
A definitive contract, not an order under a vehicle.
UEI H4WHPLHWHYQ4 · CAGE 01P83
Funded by OFFICE OF ASSET AND FACILITIES MANAGEMENT.
Price fixed at award.
1 offer reported · ONLY ONE SOURCE · authority as printed: ONLY ONE SOURCE-OTHER (FAR 6.302-1 OTHER).
Extended by both modifications; see the action history.
Service code: SPECIAL STUDIES/ANALYSIS- FEASIBILITY (NON-CONSTRUCTION).
An administrative code on the contract record.
What this does not establish
The award record establishes what ICE bought, from whom, on what authority and for how much. It names no property, assigns no building, and does not establish what SK2 delivered, who performed any task, or how its fee divided. The San Diego code identifies no particular property, no detention facility, no site visit, no appraisal and no allocation.
Three contract actions
One row per action the award record reports, in date order, with the obligation each action moved and the running total.
| Action | Date | Change | Cumulative |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base award | 2026-01-07 | $5,980,800.00 | $5,980,800.00 |
| P00001 | 2026-02-03 | $0.00 | $5,980,800.00 |
| P00002 | 2026-06-04 | $299,040.00 | $6,279,840.00 |
Both modifications extended the period of performance. The February 3 action added no money. The June 4 action added $299,040.00.
What this does not establish
An action record shows money committed and dates changed. It does not establish what was delivered, which property any action concerned, whether an extension reflected delay, or whether any amount was reasonable.
What was committed and what was paid
A base amount, a later increase, a cumulative total and a reported outlay: four figures the record keeps apart.
- Base obligation
- $5,980,800.00
- June 4 increase
- $299,040.00
- Cumulative obligations
- $6,279,840.00
- Reported outlay
- $4,455,696.00
Committed at signing on January 7, 2026.
Added by the second modification.
Through the last action in the snapshot read August 22, 2026.
Money the record reports disbursed.
The arithmetic difference between cumulative obligations and reported outlays is $1,824,144.00.
What this does not establish
That difference is subtraction, nothing more. The record does not report invoicing, work completion or payment status, so the difference is not unpaid work, outstanding invoices, unperformed work, profit, savings, waste, overbilling, fraud, a refund or a closeout balance. Cumulative obligations are not the January 7 base amount.
SK2 had access to two prisons CoreCivic sold
Filed purchase agreements put SK2 inside the due-diligence window at California City and Otay Mesa. Access is what they establish, and access is all they establish.
Two purchase agreements CoreCivic filed with the SEC each reference a February 1, 2026 access and confidentiality agreement with SK2, with due diligence running to March 3, 2026 unless ended earlier. Both copy buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2.
California City Immigration Processing Center
Access agreement documented; federal contract allocation not established.
- Access agreement
- February 1, 2026
- Purchase agreement
- July 2, 2026
Due diligence ran to March 3, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
Property price: $732,571,392.00 paid to the seller, not to SK2.
- SK2 LLC was the counterparty to the February 1, 2026 access and confidentiality agreement referenced by the filed purchase agreement.
- The due-diligence window ran to March 3, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
- The agreement contemplated buyer inspections by agents, consultants, employees, contractors and representatives.
- The purchase agreement copied buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2.
Award allocation: not-established
The filed agreement does not identify which inspections SK2 performed, whether SK2 authored an appraisal or environmental report, whether this property was assigned under PIID 70CMSW26C00000002, how any fee was allocated, or whether SK2 set or negotiated the purchase price.
Otay Mesa Detention Center
Access agreement documented; federal contract allocation not established.
- Access agreement
- February 1, 2026
- Purchase agreement
- July 2, 2026
Due diligence ran to March 3, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
Property price: $739,208,496.00 paid to the seller, not to SK2.
- SK2 LLC was the counterparty to the February 1, 2026 access and confidentiality agreement referenced by the filed purchase agreement.
- The due-diligence window ran to March 3, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
- The agreement contemplated buyer inspections by agents, consultants, employees, contractors and representatives.
- The purchase agreement copied buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2.
Award allocation: not-established
The filed agreement does not identify which inspections SK2 performed, whether SK2 authored an appraisal or environmental report, whether this property was assigned under PIID 70CMSW26C00000002, how any fee was allocated, or whether SK2 set or negotiated the purchase price.
Prairie Correctional Facility
Access agreement documented; federal contract allocation not established.
- Access agreement
- February 26, 2026
- Purchase agreement
- August 4, 2026
Due diligence ran to April 13, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
Property price: $495,639,588.00 paid to the seller, not to SK2.
- SK2 LLC was the counterparty to the February 26, 2026 access and confidentiality agreement referenced by the filed purchase agreement.
- The due-diligence window ran to April 13, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
- The agreement contemplated buyer inspections by agents, consultants, employees, contractors and representatives.
- The purchase agreement copied buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2.
Award allocation: not-established
The filed agreement does not identify which inspections SK2 performed, whether SK2 authored an appraisal or environmental report, whether this property was assigned under PIID 70CMSW26C00000002, how any fee was allocated, or whether SK2 set or negotiated the purchase price.
Midwest Regional Reception Center
Access agreement documented; federal contract allocation not established.
- Access agreement
- April 21, 2026
- Purchase agreement
- August 4, 2026
Due diligence ran to June 5, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
Property price: $238,409,354.00 paid to the seller, not to SK2.
- SK2 LLC was the counterparty to the April 21, 2026 access and confidentiality agreement referenced by the filed purchase agreement.
- The due-diligence window ran to June 5, 2026 unless terminated earlier.
- The agreement contemplated buyer inspections by agents, consultants, employees, contractors and representatives.
- The purchase agreement copied buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2.
Award allocation: not-established
The filed agreement does not identify which inspections SK2 performed, whether SK2 authored an appraisal or environmental report, whether this property was assigned under PIID 70CMSW26C00000002, how any fee was allocated, or whether SK2 set or negotiated the purchase price.
What this does not establish
These are 4 access relationships, not contract assignments. The federal contract names no property and assigns none, and nothing here establishes that SK2 appraised either site, performed every inspection, commissioned environmental work, examined title, set or negotiated a price, recommended or selected a property, represented the seller or its broker, earned a commission, or received a property-specific share of its federal fee.
The $1.47 billion went to CoreCivic, not to SK2
Property money and contract money are different figures with different payers and different recipients.
- California City Immigration Processing Center
- $732,571,392.00
- Otay Mesa Detention Center
- $739,208,496.00
- Prairie Correctional Facility
- $495,639,588.00
- Midwest Regional Reception Center
- $238,409,354.00
- Combined property price
- $2,205,828,830.00
Paid by the buyer to CoreCivic for real estate.
Paid by the buyer to CoreCivic for real estate.
Paid by the buyer to CoreCivic for real estate.
Paid by the buyer to CoreCivic for real estate.
Context only. It is never added to any SK2 or contractor total.
SK2’s own contract carries $6,279,840.00 in cumulative obligations. The property money and the contract money are separate figures with separate payers and separate recipients.
What this does not establish
The combined property price is not SK2 contract value, compensation, commission, revenue, profit, an award allocation or a facility-level fee, and no part of it is established as having reached SK2.
One source, and a contract file nobody has seen
What the award record says about competition, and which documents would explain it.
The contract record reports that ICE did not compete this award, received 1 offer, used only-one-source procedures, and cites ONLY ONE SOURCE-OTHER (FAR 6.302-1 OTHER) as the authority. The regulation sets out when an agency may buy from a single source and what it must justify, approve and publish.
Records the contract implies, none obtained
- Signed contract and statement of worknot obtained
- Justification for using one source, and its approvalnot obtained
- Market research and any source inquirynot obtained
- Independent government estimatenot obtained
- Price negotiation memorandumnot obtained
- The SF-30s behind both modificationsnot obtained
- Property assignments under the contractnot obtained
- Surveys, environmental assessments, appraisals and title examinations, with their performersnot obtained
- Deliverable schedule and acceptance recordsnot obtained
- Invoices and payment supportnot obtained
What this does not establish
A record this project could not obtain is a gap in the public record. It is not evidence that the award was unlawful, improper, defective, corrupt, rigged or favoured anyone, and not evidence that the agency failed to prepare or publish a justification.
Who else worked on it
One public dataset was searched for reported subawards under the exact recipient name.
No rows were returned by this public subaward dataset for the exact name SK2 LLC on the stated snapshot date of August 22, 2026.
What this does not establish
A nil return in one dataset on one date does not establish that SK2 performed the work itself, or that there were no subcontractors, consultants, affiliates, architects, engineers, appraisers or environmental firms. Reporting thresholds and filing lags both suppress rows.
A separate Navy vehicle
SK2 also holds a competed Navy vehicle. It is a different lane and is kept apart from the ICE contract.
- Vehicle
- N0002325D0139
- Competition
- FULL AND OPEN COMPETITION
- Offers received
- 109
- SK2 orders under it
- 0
Navy, awarded through NAVSUP.
A competed, multiple-award vehicle.
As reported on the vehicle record.
Published in the award record as of August 22, 2026.
What this does not establish
This vehicle is a separate lane. It does not explain, cover or parent the ICE contract, it creates no detention, property or facility relationship, and a count of zero published child orders is bounded to the snapshot date rather than a finding that none exists.
What these records do and do not establish
The money figures, the places the work is recorded in, and the limits of a staffing contract as evidence.
Base amount, modification, cumulative obligations and outlays are four separate figures
ICE obligated $5,980,800 when it signed the contract on January 7, 2026. The February 3 modification added nothing and extended the period of performance. The June 4 modification added $299,040, bringing cumulative obligations to $6,279,840 in the August 22, 2026 snapshot. Against that, the record reports $4,455,696 outlayed, a difference of $1,824,144.
What this does not establish
The difference does not establish unpaid work, outstanding invoices, invoices due, unperformed work, profit, savings, waste, overbilling, fraud, a refund or a final closeout balance. The cumulative figure is not the January 7 base amount.
Award snapshot retrieved 2026-08-22
What “San Diego” does and does not identify
The award record prints San Diego, California as the place of performance. That is an administrative code on a contract record.
What this does not establish
The code identifies no particular property, no detention facility, no site visit, no appraisal and no contract allocation. It is not evidence that work happened at Otay Mesa or anywhere else in San Diego.
Place-of-performance field
Access to a property is not an assignment of it
The filed agreements record two property-specific access relationships. The federal contract names no property at all, and its property-assignment and facility fields stay empty.
What this does not establish
An access and confidentiality agreement does not establish that the contract assigned either property to SK2, that SK2 performed any particular inspection, or that any part of the federal fee belongs to either site.
The $2.21 billion is property money paid to CoreCivic
CoreCivic's filed agreements put California City at $732,571,392, Otay Mesa at $739,208,496, Prairie at $495,639,588 and Midwest at $238,409,354 — a derived total of $2,205,828,830 paid for real estate under the four sale agreements.
What this does not establish
That money is not SK2 contract value, compensation, commission, revenue, profit, an award allocation or a facility-level fee, and it is never added to any SK2 or contractor total.
Purchase price provisions of the filed agreements
What the records say about the three people they name
The filed agreements copy buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2. Investigative reporting separately described Grossmann as doing real-estate and environmental-site-assessment work, and reported his denial that he had a contract with SK2; the same reporting named Steven Kelley and Scott King as business partners behind the company.
What this does not establish
A notice clause does not make anyone an owner, officer, employee, broker, appraiser, buyer representative or price setter. The reporting does not establish a legal title, an ownership percentage, present control, a complete employment history, participation in a particular acquisition, or any transfer of confidential information. The two characterisations of Grossmann's work are published together and neither is decided here.
One source, and a contract file that was not obtained
The award reports that it was not competed, drew one offer, used only-one-source procedures, and cites FAR 6.302-1. The regulation sets out when an agency may use that authority and what justification and publication it requires.
What this does not establish
The reviewed record does not include the justification, market research, source inquiry, capability statements, acquisition plan, independent government estimate, price negotiation memorandum, approval chain or statement of work. Their absence here is not evidence that the award was unlawful, improper, defective, corrupt or unjustified, or that the agency failed to prepare or post anything.
Competition and authority fields
What the company says it does
SK2's own website describes federal real-estate portfolio work, construction, detention support, facility operations and maintenance, medical support and a subcontractor network.
What this does not establish
Company descriptions are the company speaking. They do not establish performance under this contract, work at any named property, staffing levels, completed projects, or a government endorsement.
Company capability pages
A subaward search that returned nothing
An exact-name search of the federal subaward dataset for SK2 LLC returned no rows on August 22, 2026.
What this does not establish
No rows in one dataset on one date does not establish that SK2 self-performed the work, or that there were no subcontractors, consultants, affiliates, architects, engineers, appraisers, environmental firms, unreported purchases or purchases below the reporting threshold.
FSRS-reported subaward search, snapshot 2026-08-22
The Navy vehicle is a separate lane
SK2 holds Navy WEXMAC vehicle N0002325D0139, signed September 4, 2025 through NAVSUP under full and open competition against 109 offers. The snapshot shows no child orders under it.
What this does not establish
Holding this vehicle does not explain, cover or parent the ICE contract, and it creates no detention, property or facility relationship. Zero published child orders is a dataset state, not proof that no work exists.
IDV record N0002325D0139
One company, with its formation and ownership unresolved
The award record names San Juan, Puerto Rico; a secondary registration mirror prints Clarksville, Tennessee; the company's own site calls SK2 a Puerto Rico partner. No entity-specific formation or status filing was obtained.
What this does not establish
None of these signals establishes a formation jurisdiction, a formation date or filing number, an active, inactive, dissolved or reinstated status, a current owner, ownership percentages, controlling persons, a complete officer roster, or any parent or subsidiary. Similarly named companies with other identifiers are not this company.
What remains unresolved
Questions the reviewed records do not answer, with the evidence that is missing and where we are looking for it.
What this does not establish
An open question records missing evidence. It is not a finding.
identity
What is SK2’s official formation jurisdiction, filing number, formation date and current registry status?
- Why it matters
- The exact legal entity and lifecycle must be established before publishing formation or dissolution claims.
- Missing evidence
- entity-specific Puerto Rico registry result; formation filing; amendments; dissolution or reinstatement filings
- Where we are looking
- Puerto Rico Department of State; Tennessee Secretary of State
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What is SK2’s official formation jurisdiction, filing number, formation date and current registry status? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
Why do federal-registration sources print both San Juan and Clarksville location signals?
- Why it matters
- The conflict affects registry, jurisdiction and identity resolution but cannot be silently repaired.
- Missing evidence
- current SAM entity record; CAGE record; state registry filings; business-address change history
- Where we are looking
- SAM.gov; DLA CAGE; state registries
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Why do federal-registration sources print both San Juan and Clarksville location signals? (partial). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- partially answered
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
ownership
Who currently owns and controls SK2 LLC?
- Why it matters
- Ownership determines who benefits, who directs the firm and whether related-party conflicts exist.
- Missing evidence
- operating agreement; member ledger; cap table; manager/member filing; beneficial-control record
- Where we are looking
- SK2 LLC; Puerto Rico corporate filings; Tennessee corporate filings
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Who currently owns and controls SK2 LLC? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
governance
What are the complete current officer, manager and executive roles at SK2?
- Why it matters
- Publicly named people must be tied to actual legal or organizational roles, not name proximity.
- Missing evidence
- manager filings; officer roster; organization chart; board or member resolutions
- Where we are looking
- SK2 LLC; state registries; SAM responsibility file
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What are the complete current officer, manager and executive roles at SK2? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
What legal role does Steven Kelley hold and when did it begin?
- Why it matters
- Secondary reporting identifies him as a business partner but not a legal title or ownership percentage.
- Missing evidence
- formation filing; operating agreement; employment or officer record; SAM key-person record
- Where we are looking
- SK2 LLC; state registry; ICE proposal
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What legal role does Steven Kelley hold and when did it begin? (partial). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- partially answered
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
What legal role does Scott King hold and when did it begin?
- Why it matters
- Secondary reporting identifies him as a business partner but not a legal title or ownership percentage.
- Missing evidence
- formation filing; operating agreement; employment or officer record; SAM key-person record
- Where we are looking
- SK2 LLC; state registry; ICE proposal
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What legal role does Scott King hold and when did it begin? (partial). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- partially answered
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
people and role
What was James Grossmann’s exact contractual and organizational role for SK2 and DHS?
- Why it matters
- The notice-copy record and his reported statements do not establish his legal relationship or compensation.
- Missing evidence
- consulting agreement; employment record; agency designation; scope of work; invoice or payment record
- Where we are looking
- SK2 LLC; ICE OAFM; CoreCivic closing file
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What was James Grossmann’s exact contractual and organizational role for SK2 and DHS? (partial). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- partially answered
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
procurement
What services and deliverables does the signed SK2 contract require?
- Why it matters
- The award description is too broad to identify the actual work product.
- Missing evidence
- signed contract; statement of work; performance work statement; deliverable schedule; quality assurance plan
- Where we are looking
- ICE Office of Acquisition Management; ICE OAFM
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What services and deliverables does the signed SK2 contract require? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
What written justification and approval supported the FAR 6.302-1 one-source award?
- Why it matters
- The record is needed to test the agency’s stated basis for using one source.
- Missing evidence
- J&A; approval signatures; market research; sources-sought results; waiver if any
- Where we are looking
- SAM.gov; ICE Office of Acquisition Management
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What written justification and approval supported the FAR 6.302-1 one-source award? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
What unique capability or circumstance did ICE say made SK2 the only responsible source?
- Why it matters
- The public award fields record the authority but not the underlying rationale.
- Missing evidence
- requirements package; market research; capability analysis; technical recommendation
- Where we are looking
- ICE OAFM; ICE competition advocate
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What unique capability or circumstance did ICE say made SK2 the only responsible source? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
money
How did ICE determine $5,980,800 and the later $299,040 were fair and reasonable?
- Why it matters
- Firm-fixed-price and no cost/pricing data do not reveal the agency’s price analysis.
- Missing evidence
- independent government estimate; price negotiation memorandum; rate schedule; comparison or cost analysis
- Where we are looking
- ICE contracting file
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: How did ICE determine $5,980,800 and the later $299,040 were fair and reasonable? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
How was SK2’s $6.28 million contract price allocated by property and deliverable?
- Why it matters
- Without allocation, no property-specific fee or percentage can be published.
- Missing evidence
- invoices; CLIN schedule; property allocation; deliverable acceptance; payment ledger
- Where we are looking
- ICE OAFM; SK2 LLC
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: How was SK2’s $6.28 million contract price allocated by property and deliverable? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
What does the $1,824,144 obligation-outlay difference represent?
- Why it matters
- The difference cannot be called unpaid, unperformed, profit, savings or waste without closeout and invoice records.
- Missing evidence
- invoices; payment records; unliquidated obligation report; closeout statement
- Where we are looking
- ICE financial system; USAspending source data
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What does the $1,824,144 obligation-outlay difference represent? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
modification
Why did P00001 extend the performance period two days before the referenced access agreements?
- Why it matters
- The chronology may clarify whether the contract tracked the four properties, but sequence alone establishes nothing.
- Missing evidence
- P00001 SF-30; change request; contracting officer memorandum; revised schedule
- Where we are looking
- ICE contracting file
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Why did P00001 extend the performance period two days before the referenced access agreements? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
What work or time justified the $299,040 P00002 increase?
- Why it matters
- The action description says only that performance was extended.
- Missing evidence
- P00002 SF-30; contractor proposal; change-order request; price analysis; revised deliverables
- Where we are looking
- ICE contracting file
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What work or time justified the $299,040 P00002 increase? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
contract lifecycle
What happened when the recorded performance period ended on September 4, 2026?
- Why it matters
- The date is after the packet snapshot and may produce a later action, extension, closeout or continuing work.
- Missing evidence
- later award actions; closeout record; extension; termination; final invoice
- Where we are looking
- USAspending; ICE contracting file
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What happened when the recorded performance period ended on September 4, 2026? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
property allocation
Which properties, if any, were formally assigned under contract 70CMSW26C00000002?
- Why it matters
- The contract names no property and the access agreements do not prove contract allocation.
- Missing evidence
- property assignment list; task instructions; site authorizations; invoice-to-property crosswalk
- Where we are looking
- ICE OAFM; SK2 LLC
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Which properties, if any, were formally assigned under contract 70CMSW26C00000002? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
property due diligence
What do the February 1, 2026 access and confidentiality agreements themselves require?
- Why it matters
- The SEC purchase agreements only reference them.
- Missing evidence
- executed access agreements; amendments; termination notices; inspection protocols
- Where we are looking
- CoreCivic; DHS; SK2 LLC
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What do the February 1, 2026 access and confidentiality agreements themselves require? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
Who performed each California City inspection and diligence product?
- Why it matters
- The buyer-inspection category includes many possible actors and cannot be assigned to SK2.
- Missing evidence
- inspection logs; appraisal; environmental assessment; survey; title report; structural and condition reports
- Where we are looking
- DHS acquisition file; SK2 LLC; CoreCivic
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Who performed each California City inspection and diligence product? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
Who performed each Otay Mesa inspection and diligence product?
- Why it matters
- The buyer-inspection category includes many possible actors and cannot be assigned to SK2.
- Missing evidence
- inspection logs; appraisal; environmental assessment; survey; title report; structural and condition reports
- Where we are looking
- DHS acquisition file; SK2 LLC; CoreCivic
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Who performed each Otay Mesa inspection and diligence product? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
valuation
Did SK2 author, commission, review or merely coordinate any appraisal?
- Why it matters
- The agreements say the buyer may obtain appraisals but name no appraiser.
- Missing evidence
- appraisal engagement letters; appraisals; review appraisals; invoices; correspondence
- Where we are looking
- DHS; SK2 LLC; appraisal contractor
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Did SK2 author, commission, review or merely coordinate any appraisal? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
Did SK2 participate in purchase-price negotiation or recommendation?
- Why it matters
- Access and notice roles do not establish pricing authority.
- Missing evidence
- negotiation memoranda; offers and counteroffers; decision memoranda; meeting notes; email
- Where we are looking
- DHS; CoreCivic; SK2 LLC
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Did SK2 participate in purchase-price negotiation or recommendation? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
subcontracting
Which consultants, appraisers, engineers, title firms, environmental firms or affiliates performed the work?
- Why it matters
- Zero public FSRS rows do not establish self-performance.
- Missing evidence
- team proposal; subcontracts; purchase orders; consultant agreements; invoices; key-personnel roster
- Where we are looking
- SK2 LLC; ICE contracting file
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Which consultants, appraisers, engineers, title firms, environmental firms or affiliates performed the work? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
conflict controls
What organizational-conflict and procurement-integrity reviews were performed?
- Why it matters
- The record does not establish whether SK2 or its personnel represented sellers or held conflicting financial interests.
- Missing evidence
- OCI disclosures; mitigation plan; procurement-integrity certifications; recusals; seller representation disclosures
- Where we are looking
- ICE contracting file; SK2 LLC
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What organizational-conflict and procurement-integrity reviews were performed? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
ownership and affiliates
What legal relationship, if any, existed between SK2 and KPB Services?
- Why it matters
- Secondary commentary is insufficient to publish a joint venture or ownership edge.
- Missing evidence
- joint-venture agreement; operating agreement; SBA/SAM joint-venture record; cap table; management rights
- Where we are looking
- KPB Services; SK2 LLC; SBA; SAM
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: What legal relationship, if any, existed between SK2 and KPB Services? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
parallel procurement
Did SK2 receive any detention-related WEXMAC task order after the frozen snapshot?
- Why it matters
- Holding the IDV does not establish an ICE order.
- Missing evidence
- current child orders; fair-opportunity notices; interagency agreements; MIPRs; reimbursement records
- Where we are looking
- NAVSUP; DHS; ICE
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Did SK2 receive any detention-related WEXMAC task order after the frozen snapshot? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
corporate status
Did SK2 file to dissolve in Puerto Rico, and if so what is the effective and current status?
- Why it matters
- A watchdog reported a dissolution filing, but the primary filing was not obtained and federal records continued to show active awards.
- Missing evidence
- Puerto Rico dissolution filing; status history; reinstatement or cancellation; government notice
- Where we are looking
- Puerto Rico Department of State; SK2 LLC; SAM administrators
- Searches recorded
- August 28, 2026 — Public web, current Detention Receipts branch, federal award snapshots and SEC filings: Did SK2 file to dissolve in Puerto Rico, and if so what is the effective and current status? (not-found). The packet records only what the reviewed sources establish; unresolved records remain named retrieval targets.
- Status
- open
An unresolved question is not evidence that misconduct occurred or that the record does not exist.
Records to obtain
The documents that would answer the questions above, and who holds them.
Definitive contract 70CMSW26C00000002
ICE Office of Acquisition Management and Office of Asset and Facilities Management
- signed contract
- statement or performance work statement
- J&A and approval
- market research and sources-sought records
- independent government estimate
- price negotiation memorandum
- responsibility determination
- P00001 and P00002 SF-30s
- contractor proposals and change requests
- deliverable schedule
- quality assurance plan
- invoices
- payment and acceptance records
- closeout or extension records
This request names records that would resolve specific questions. It is not a finding that any record is missing unlawfully or supports misconduct.
Property assignments and fee allocation under the SK2 acquisition-services contract
ICE OAFM and SK2 LLC
- property assignment list
- site authorizations
- task instructions
- property-by-property fee schedule
- CLIN allocation
- invoice-to-property crosswalk
- travel and site-visit records
- accepted deliverables by property
The request does not assume California City, Otay Mesa or any other property was formally assigned under the contract.
February 1, 2026 access and confidentiality agreements for California City and Otay Mesa
DHS, ICE, CoreCivic and SK2 LLC
- executed access agreements
- amendments
- inspection-party rosters
- site-visit logs
- due-diligence termination notices
- environmental reports
- appraisals and review appraisals
- surveys and plans
- title work
- structural and property-condition reports
- closing correspondence
The request does not assume SK2 performed each diligence task or authored any appraisal.
Personnel, consultants, subcontractors and conflict controls
ICE and SK2 LLC
- key-personnel proposal
- organization chart
- resumes and labor categories
- subcontracts and purchase orders
- consultant agreements
- appraiser, engineer, environmental and title providers
- seller-representation disclosures
- organizational-conflict analysis
- mitigation plan
- procurement-integrity certifications
- invoices by performer
Zero public FSRS rows do not establish self-performance, and a records request does not imply an undisclosed conflict.
SK2 formation, status, ownership, managers and reported dissolution
Puerto Rico Department of State, Tennessee Secretary of State, SAM administrators and SK2 LLC
- formation filing
- filing number and formation date
- current status history
- operating agreement
- manager/member filings
- cap table or member ledger
- dissolution filing
- withdrawal or reinstatement records
- SAM ownership and address history
- CAGE address history
The request does not assume the company dissolved, reincorporated, concealed ownership or operated under an invalid registration.
Roles of James Grossmann, Steven Kelley and Scott King
SK2 LLC, ICE OAFM and DHS acquisition files
- employment or consulting agreements
- officer or manager resolutions
- authority delegations
- property engagement letters
- compensation records
- correspondence
- meeting attendance
- proposal key-personnel sections
Public name association is not proof of legal title, ownership, compensation or transaction authority.
SK2 WEXMAC TITUS IDV N0002325D0139 and any detention-related orders
NAVSUP, Department of the Navy, DHS and ICE
- current child orders
- fair-opportunity notices
- source selections
- interagency agreements
- MIPRs
- reimbursement records
- task-order modifications
- administrative fees
Holding the WEXMAC vehicle does not establish an ICE order or property relationship.
Corrections to this record
Append-only. The timeline gives each correction's exact discovery and publication time and the dates of the sources behind it; the ledger below keeps the previous value visible beside the corrected one.
Discovered August 28, 2026, 20:00 UTC · Published August 28, 2026, 21:30 UTC
date correction · How the SK2 contract amount is dated
Render $5,980,800 as the base obligation, P00002 as a $299,040 increase on June 4, 2026, and $6,279,840 as cumulative obligations in the August 22, 2026 snapshot.
- USAspending.gov / Detention Receipts deterministic snapshot — Award 70CMSW26C00000002 — SK2 LLC, ICE real-property acquisition servicesPublication date not stated · Retrieved August 22, 2026
Discovered August 28, 2026, 20:00 UTC · Published August 28, 2026, 21:30 UTC
factual correction · How the SK2 property relationships are counted and named
Represent the two records as property-specific access-agreement relationships. Do not call them contract assignments unless the contract property-assignment file is obtained.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / CoreCivic, Inc. — California City Purchase and Sale Agreement, Exhibit 10.1Published July 6, 2026 · Retrieved August 28, 2026
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / CoreCivic, Inc. — Otay Mesa Purchase and Sale Agreement, Exhibit 10.2Published July 6, 2026 · Retrieved August 28, 2026
- USAspending.gov / Detention Receipts deterministic snapshot — Award 70CMSW26C00000002 — SK2 LLC, ICE real-property acquisition servicesPublication date not stated · Retrieved August 22, 2026
Discovered August 28, 2026, 20:00 UTC · Published August 28, 2026, 21:30 UTC
factual correction · How James Grossmann’s role is described
The SEC-backed public role is narrower: the agreements copy buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2. Any broader real-estate or environmental-assessment role must remain attributed to The Lever and must include Grossmann’s reported denial that he had a contract with SK2.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / CoreCivic, Inc. — California City Purchase and Sale Agreement, Exhibit 10.1Published July 6, 2026 · Retrieved August 28, 2026
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / CoreCivic, Inc. — Otay Mesa Purchase and Sale Agreement, Exhibit 10.2Published July 6, 2026 · Retrieved August 28, 2026
- Truthout / The Lever — This Developer Went From Financial Peril to Billion-Dollar Deals for DHSPublished July 31, 2026 · Retrieved August 28, 2026
Discovered August 28, 2026, 20:00 UTC · Published August 28, 2026, 21:30 UTC
factual correction · What the San Diego location line means
Keep San Diego as an administrative award field only. It identifies no detention facility, property, visit, appraisal or fee allocation.
- USAspending.gov / Detention Receipts deterministic snapshot — Award 70CMSW26C00000002 — SK2 LLC, ICE real-property acquisition servicesPublication date not stated · Retrieved August 22, 2026
- Detention Receipts — SK2 LLC → San Diego place-of-performance instrument hopPublished August 25, 2026 · Retrieved August 28, 2026
date · contractor-case-file-copy · contractor-sk2 · How the SK2 contract amount is dated
- Previously recorded
- "Some current surfaces label $6,279,840 simply as the current award amount without tying it to P00002 and the August 22 snapshot."
- Now recorded
- "Render $5,980,800 as the base obligation, P00002 as a $299,040 increase on June 4, 2026, and $6,279,840 as cumulative obligations in the August 22, 2026 snapshot."
The current amount includes a later modification and should not be read as the January 7 base value.
Render $5,980,800 as the base obligation, P00002 as a $299,040 increase on June 4, 2026, and $6,279,840 as cumulative obligations in the August 22, 2026 snapshot.
Discovered August 28, 2026 · Published August 28, 2026
factual · contractor-case-file-copy · contractor-sk2 · How the SK2 property relationships are counted and named
- Previously recorded
- "The acquisition-contractor ledger counted two “sites obtained” for SK2, wording that reads as though the contract assigned both properties to the company."
- Now recorded
- "Represent the two records as property-specific access-agreement relationships. Do not call them contract assignments unless the contract property-assignment file is obtained."
The SEC agreements establish access relationships, while the ICE contract itself names no property.
Represent the two records as property-specific access-agreement relationships. Do not call them contract assignments unless the contract property-assignment file is obtained.
Discovered August 28, 2026 · Published August 28, 2026
factual · contractor-case-file-copy · contractor-sk2 · How James Grossmann’s role is described
- Previously recorded
- "Secondary reporting describes Grossmann as an agent working with DHS to close the deals."
- Now recorded
- "The SEC-backed public role is narrower: the agreements copy buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2. Any broader real-estate or environmental-assessment role must remain attributed to The Lever and must include Grossmann’s reported denial that he had a contract with SK2."
A notice clause is not an employment agreement, agency appointment, brokerage agreement or appraisal engagement.
The SEC-backed public role is narrower: the agreements copy buyer notices to James Grossmann of SK2. Any broader real-estate or environmental-assessment role must remain attributed to The Lever and must include Grossmann’s reported denial that he had a contract with SK2.
Discovered August 28, 2026 · Published August 28, 2026
factual · contractor-case-file-copy · contractor-sk2 · What the San Diego location line means
- Previously recorded
- "San Diego appears as the award’s coded place of performance and can be mistaken for a named property assignment."
- Now recorded
- "Keep San Diego as an administrative award field only. It identifies no detention facility, property, visit, appraisal or fee allocation."
The award record contains no named property and the existing instrument-hop boundary must remain intact.
Keep San Diego as an administrative award field only. It identifies no detention facility, property, visit, appraisal or fee allocation.
Discovered August 28, 2026 · Published August 28, 2026
Corporate case-file sources
Every source cited by the corporate sections above, once each.
Award figures retrieved from the USAspending.gov API on 2026-08-20. Amounts are nominal US dollars as reported by the awarding agency.